Projects and Tools


Go Back   Projects and Tools > Projects General Discussions
Forums Homepage Members List


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:38 AM
Mr.B Mr.B is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pasadena and Memphis
Posts: 7
Default Home AC Filter Size

While researching information on an upgraded HVAC system for my house, I came across something that interested me ... a 4 ton AC system should have 800 sq. inches of inlet filter area .... my filter is a 20X25, so using my above average mathamatical skills, I concluded that I only have 500 sq. inches of inlet area ... not nearly enough .... an upgraded "air return" system will be my next project. Any thoughts on this subject will be highly appreciated in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:19 AM
Nat Nat is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Nat
Default

I don't know much about HVAC, but I hope you can find a solution, should you have a problem with the air inlet size.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:56 AM
Mr.B Mr.B is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pasadena and Memphis
Posts: 7
Default

I think I'll start by swinging by Lowes and see what kind of filter housing assemblies they offer, and what size filters are easily available ... I don't want to install some monster filter housing and then struggle every time I need to buy new filters .... I might just cut me another hole and add another filter housing .... since my original one is in the hallway, I think I can add a second intake in the master bedroom .... I wonder if that would be noisey?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2009, 12:37 PM
Squid's Avatar
Squid Squid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.B View Post
I think I'll start by swinging by Lowes and see what kind of filter housing assemblies they offer, and what size filters are easily available ... I don't want to install some monster filter housing and then struggle every time I need to buy new filters .... I might just cut me another hole and add another filter housing .... since my original one is in the hallway, I think I can add a second intake in the master bedroom .... I wonder if that would be noisey?
That's what they did when they installed our new system in the Queens Victorian. I now have 3 filters to replace every month but the cooling and heating efficiency with the 2 new intakes is far superior.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2016, 03:27 AM
wilsonsmith wilsonsmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default HVAC Filters

HVAC filters can allow harmful particles such as pollen, dust mites, mold spores, pet dander, tobacco smoke and other contaminants to enter your house. Having an incorrect filter size is like not using a filter at all, which can have a bigger impact on your furnace and AC systems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.